Jesus Calling by: Sarah Young

451884_1_ftc_dp1

I just received this as a thank you gift from a good friend. I was so excited because I had walked through Barnes and Noble the day before, saw this sitting on one of those “Must Read” tables, and started coveting it. I didn’t even know what it was about. Well, let me tell you!

Sarah Young writes this daily devotional from the perspective of Jesus. The devotions she writes are encouraging and biblical. She italicizes the encouragement that’s biblical and includes the verses below the devotion. They’re short, won’t even take you five minutes to read one. It’s been really encouraging while trying to deal with my anxiety. I thought I’d have a hard time with point of view it was written from because I’m sort of stubborn when it comes to people trying to act anything like Jesus (I would just never try it, I don’t have the guts. I always worry a lightning bolt will come out of nowhere.). But this was nothing like that! It’s extremely well written and it’s actually comforting.

It’s not too late to start! January isn’t over yet so I would highly suggest you stop coveting me (10th Commandment) and go get one!

Leave a comment